I Swear I’m Alive: Updates and Other Fun(?) Stuff

So, some of you must be wondering why I somehow stopped writing during the Knit and Crochet Blog Week back in May (read my first two entries: 1 2). Sorry for pretty much dropping off without a word here, and to make up for that here’s a very long explanation as to why I’ve been away from writing and some future plans for the site. For the short and sweet version, scroll to the bottom of this post!

summer of studying

Although it is quite a bummer to put off doing fun things like blog and pump out crochet projects every two weeks or so, I know my priorities when it comes to more important things such as studying for accelerated biochemistry (ahhhhh!) and the MCAT (ahhhhhhhhh!!). Trying to fit in the time to do all three quickly burned me out and I was in a grumpy, incredibly unproductive rut for the second half of May and early June. I do feel guilty for not working as hard as I should have on my studies during that time, but I need to stop feeling sorry for myself and just work twice as hard to make up for the lack of ambition for these past weeks.

store hiatus and pattern work

With that being said, I have had to reluctantly put many Cuddlelump Crafts related things on the back burner. My Storenvy is currently closed, and will (hopefully!) re-open in October, along with slots for crochet commissions. I’ve also spread out my pattern writing deadlines from a pattern a month to a pattern every 2 months, which right now seems to be an attainable goal. I currently am working on and off on a big pattern project, with a smaller one that will probably be released either late this month or early July.

instagram

With the remaining prompts for Knit and Crochet Blog Week, I’ll get to them much later this year. In the meantime, I’ll be on Instagram posting my crochet works-in-progress on Wednesdays and some photo prompts by luanded and usscrafty. If a daily prompt is intriguing enough, I’ll write a piece to go along with the photo as well.

Cold sheep challenge

I will attempt the “Cold Sheep” Challenge, which means starting today I’ll have to do all of my projects using yarn from my current yarn stash. I’m doing this challenge as I have a rather decent stockpile of yarn that needs to be used, by reducing that amount I also reduce the number of storage containers I have blocking a section of my bedroom.

croppedoutmessyroomAfter sorting and doing inventory, it turns out that I have 49 different varieties to use up! Here’s a part of my stash that I have divided into blanket projects. Most of the yarn in the picture above will go towards making lap blankets for the VA Medical Center in Detroit. The softer varieties will be made into blankets that will go towards the Childrens’ Hospital or the Henry Ford in Detroit.

overall

I’m busy studying my butt off, currently working on and off on two patterns, put my store on hold, decided to not buy new yarn until I deplete my current stash, and am more active on Instagram and Twitter for the time being as writing blog posts is rather time consuming for a slow writer like myself. Thank you for being patient with me and all of these updates!

Leave a Reply

