Going Cold Sheep: an Introduction

Last week I took the time to catalogue my current collection of yarn to prepare myself for taking a Cold Sheep challenge. I got the idea from a Ravelry group who decided that with 2015 being the Year of the Ram they would take it upon themselves to work only from their current yarn stash and not make any yarn purchases for the rest of this year. I decided to take up this challenge as well, as the idea intrigued me and I had a couple of personal reasons to do so:

I have a lot of yarn.

Thanks to inheriting other people’s yarn stashes and a couple purchases along the way, my room is quite cramped with storage containers full of yarn. I’m willing to admit that right now there’s yarn located under my bed, in my nightstand drawer, on my bookshelf, next to the book shelf and under my desk! Although everything is organized, I’d like to take out some of these containers and let make my room less cramped.

It’s Another way to give back.

I admit that I’ve been lazy with doing my own charity work. I’ve been working hard to get Warm Up Detroit on its feet and towards finishing its first blanket project, but that cannot be the reason why I’m not doing charity work myself. Therefore, I aim to have majority of my finished projects from this challenge go to hospitals near my university. Places I’m looking forward to donate to are the Henry Ford Hospital, DMC Children’s Hospital, and the VA Medical Center.

I can ease myself out of ATTACHMENT.

I love my wide variety of yarn, but what’s the point in having them if they’re not being used? There’s four skeins of very fancy (and incredibly soft) yarn I was gifted, and have been sitting in a container under my bed for almost a year and a half because I was concerned that I was not using the skeins on a project “worthy” enough. In fact, saving skeins for “the perfect project”  is the reason for most of the accumulation. Adding to that, I actually had a problem with dividing yarn projects because I was worried about giving “too much” away!  I need to stop worrying about trivial matters like the ones mentioned and just be more that willing to part with yarn for projects.

I need to reduce impulse purchases

This isn’t too big of a problem, but it still exists and I would like to confront it. Retail therapy is fun once in a while, but I really have to tighten my crafting budget after paying for my MCAT fees. Plus, what’s the point in buying more yarn if I don’t have adequate storage space in the first place? Besides not buying yarn, I have also restricted myself from buying any other crafting supplies to really make this a challenge on myself. Although it does pain me to throw away a ton of good coupons, I know it’s for the best. As my last yarn purchase was in late May before I decided to go Cold Sheep, I’m doing pretty well so far, right?

What I hope to take away from this experience:

I want to see how resourceful and creative I can get with the yarn I have on hand, and I’m rather interested to see how much I saved by going Cold Sheep for as long as I can!

If you want to check in on how I’m faring with this challenge, I’ll be tagging everything Cold Sheep related with #coldsheep2015 on Instagram. Ravelry users can use this link to view project specs before I do write ups for them on the blog.

(While I assure you most of the Cold Sheep projects will be going towards charity, there will be a part of my stash going towards creating new crochet patterns and items to sell around late fall. Not only can you enjoy reading about my experience in this challenge, but you can also own a piece of it soon!)  

One thought on “Going Cold Sheep: an Introduction

Leave a Reply

