Daisy Dork Shorts

Happy Friday everyone!

Tomorrow I’m going to Maker Faire Detroit, where I’ll be volunteering my afternoon at the TNNA booth to help teach others how to crochet, knit, and a do little bit of needlepoint!

To show my love for the needle arts I decided to make a crocheted piece of clothing to wear for the event, and decided to go full on crochet dork with 70’s inspired crochet shorts, with a bonus daisy headband to boot!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As part of my Cold Sheep Challenge, these shorts were made with yarn from my current stash. I used Caron United in Mustard and LeeWards Orlon Sayelle in Spring Green and White. I chose a green and yellow color scheme for the shorts so they can also double for something to wear during my university’s student organization recruitment events. Got to love multi-use projects!

The shorts are mostly based off of 365 Crochet’s G-Squared Shorts pattern, but for the front panels I replaced the first 3 rounds with the daisy and green portion of Harujion’s Flower Garden Granny Square. I also added a trim on the bottom for balancing the green waist portion of the shorts. I made the shorts following the directions for a size small and found out that the waist portion was a bit too tight, but since it was feasible to shimmy in and out of them the waist wasn’t too big of a deal for me. For a more roomy fit I would’ve used an 8.00mm/L hook or went with the medium size and add a drawstring to the waist. (People with Ravelry accounts can see the fit here.)

As for how the shorts feel, they’re rather comfy! They’re not as warm as I thought they would be, even with bike shorts underneath.

The headband was made using Repeat Crafter Me’s Daisy Pattern #2. I was originally planning on making a flower crown headband, but after seeing how huge one daisy came out with an 5.00mm/H hook I figured that one would be enough. Didn’t want to go too overboard with flower power, heheh.

I’m rather excited to attend as it’s another opportunity to promote knitting and crochet to hopefully others in the college crowd, and from the schedule of events that’s going down tomorrow, it seems like there will be a ton to see there. Let’s hope for good weather and an amazing experience tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

