Maker Faire Detroit!

This past weekend I attended Maker Faire Detroit, where I volunteered at the NeedleArts Zone sponsored by The National Needlearts Association. In this space I taught visitors to Maker Faire how to knit and crochet, and I enjoyed it so much last year that I had to do it again! This event is located inside and around the Henry Ford Museum, with the NeedleArts Zone located in between the vintage cars and airplanes. We received a lot of foot traffic due to our location being on the path to get to the outdoor activities, so there was never a shortage of onlookers and students!

IMG_0405

The NeedleArts Zone had areas for the visitors to learn and see demos on spinning, weaving, needlepoint, cross-stitch, knitting and crochet. Over the course of the day each zone fluctuated in amount of students, but overall the NeedleArts Zone was well attended-and a hit with families!

IMG_0453e

The spinning area was one of my favorite places. There was a table full of skeins made from the same stock of fiber, with each skein tagged with the spinner name, the amount of spinning experience they have, and their spinning preferences. I loved seeing the wide variety of textures, and reading the stories of the spinners behind the yarn was a nice touch.

IMG_0403

The scarf that the pilot display is wearing is made from yarn that Maker Faire attendees have spun. How cool is that?

IMG_0407

After my teaching shift I was able to walk around, and the area that I ended up spending the most time at was the tent for i3 Detroit. i3 Detroit is a Maker space in Ferndale, and after seeing the work on display I’ll have to check that place out during one of their open nights.

IMG_0408

Honestly, I am in love with this dragon costume. Look at that necklace! The mask! The wings! Seriously, this is gorgeous.

IMG_0409

When I was at the tent there was a lady doing a demo on machine made lace. After making up a pattern, she gets the machine to sew it onto a water soluble material. When the sewing is done, all she has to do is let the lace soak in water and the material it was stitched on dissolves and she’s left with what’s in the picture below. How cool is that?

IMG_0410

IMG_0411

IMG_0416

And of course, it can’t be a proper Maker Faire unless there’s robots around! I was able to watch the MegaBots Mk. II shoot a paint cannonball into a car, and then the 501st Legion did a photo op. (Check out the Lando cosplay behind the fence!)

IMG_0412

One of the many things I enjoy about Maker Faire is that everyone who’s made something is always willing to do a photo for you if you ask.

…and here’s even more pictures!

IMG_0427IMG_0423IMG_0429

Hopefully I’ll be able to do a third round of teach next year, and for both days of Maker Faire. Attempting to get through all of the things to see inside and out of the museum is rather overwhelming to do in one day, and I’d love to have the time to (slowly) walk though all the exhibits and really appreciate the work fellow makers have done!

Other miscellaneous things:

  • I met Deb and Sheila, the wonderful ladies behind the Never Cast Off podcast. CHeck them out!
  • I decided to rush a top to wear for the event, and of course the sizing was a bit off. This is what I get for trying to replicate a top I saw off Instagram…but shout out to Erica for re-lacing my top in the morning and saving me from certain wardrobe malfunction doom! ^^;;
  • There was also a fellow knit and crochet teacher who decided to wear a knitted top of her own to the event, so that was pretty cool!

Did you attend Maker Faire Detroit last weekend? What was your favorite exhibit?

Leave a Reply

